The 2021 Academic Convocation was held on Wednesday, April 21, 2021.

The Academic Convocation is a key moment in our academic year which occurs during our annual De la Salle Heritage Days.  The theme for 2021 is "Great Things are Possible:  Together in Faith, Service, and Community".  This year there are two distinguished honorees,  Brother James Gaffney, FSC, President Emeritus of Lewis University and Kevin M. Nagle, Chairperson of the Saint Mary's College Board of Trustees.

Brother James Gaffney, FSC, President Emeritus of Lewis University

Brother James Gaffney, FSC
President Emeritus of Lewis University

Chairperson of the Saint Mary's College Board of Trustees

Kevin M. Nagle
Chairperson, Saint Mary's College Board of Trustees

Convocation is the centerpiece of a weeklong celebration of the life of Saint John Baptist de La Salle, patron saint of teachers, founder of the Christian Brothers and the College’s Lasallian heritage and mission.  Past recipients include:

  • Brother Louis DeThomasis, President Emeritus, Saint Mary's University of Minnesota
  • Dr. Carmelita I. Ouebengco, Chancellor Emeritus and University Fellow at De La Salle University, Manila, Philippines
  • Brother Peter Bray, FSC, Vice Chancellor of Bethlehem, University
  • Brother Thomas Johnson,FSC,  Director of the Novitiate for the Lasallian Region of North America. ( Read his address)  
  • Brother Robert Schieler, Superior General (Read his address)
  • Brother Armin Altamirano Luistro, Secretary of Education Philippines (Read his address)
  • Brother Alvaro Rodriquez Echeverria, Superior General
  • Brother Gustavo Ramirez Barba, Institute of the Brothers of the Christian Schools, General Councilor
  • Brother Augustine (Gus) Boquer,  President of De La Salle University-Dasmarinas, Philippines
  • Brother Carlos Gabriel Gomez-Restrepo, President of Universidad of de La Salle, Bogota, Columbia
  • Gery Short, Director of Education for the De La Salle Christian Brothers for the Western Province
  • Brother Jose Cervantes, founder of four universities in Mexico (More about this honoree)
  • Brother Gerard Rummery, International formator
  • Brother Ed Siderwitz, founder of San Miguel and Catalyst schools in Chicago
  • Brother Vincent Malham, former President of Bethlehem University