Current Members


Serving by Position

  • Chair of Theology & Religious Studies: TBA
  • Vice President for Mission:  Frances Sweeney
  • Director of the Henning Institute:  Ted Tsukahara
  • Director of CILSA : Jennifer Pigza
  • Director of Mission and Ministry: Karin McClelland
  • Vice Provost for Student Life: TBA
  • Dean, School of Liberal Arts:  Sheila Hassell Hughes
  • ASMC Student Representative:
  • Student Representatives:  Maya Patel

Representatives appointed by the President and Provost

  • One academic dean:  Roy Wensley, School of Science
  • One student life dean: Jim Sciuto
  • One Christian Brother representative: TBA
  •  SMC Chaplain: TBA
  • One faculty representative from each of the undergraduate schools:
    School of Science: TBA
    School of Liberal Arts: Anne Carpenter
    School of Business and Economics:  TBA
  • One faculty representative from graduate school:  Susan Marston
  • One faculty at-large:  TBA
  • One staff representative: TBA

Chair:   Brother Charles Hilken, FSC             

Seefurth Chair: Bishop John S. Cummins                    

Administrative Assistant: Sally Jamison

Finance Committee

  •  The Finance Committee will be composed of the Chair, Administrative Assistant, and two members of the Governing Board
  • The Committee proposes a yearly budget to the Board for approval.
  • The Committee establishes “Guides for the Application for Assistance for Activities and Events.” The Committee reviews all requests for assistance from persons and organizations which do not have membership on the Governing Board according to the approved “Guidelines.”
  • The Committee makes decisions on all requests up to $1,500.  Requests for more than $1,500 must have the approval of the Governing Board.  Decisions are made in line with the total amount for non-Governing Board activities approved by the Board each year. 


Brother Charles Hilken, FSC [May, 2010], Sally Jamison [September, 2009],  Jeanne DeMatteo [September 2013] Jennifer Pigza [September 2015]



Events and Programs Committee

The Events and Programs Committee is responsible for the major activities and events of the Governing Board, at least one in the Fall Semester and one in the Spring Semester.  The purpose of these events and programs is to promote the Catholic intellectual tradition at Saint Mary’s College.  Proposed activities are presented at a Governing Board meeting for approval.  Events are in line with the total amount for Governing Board activities approved by the Governing Board year.  No member of the Board is precluded from suggesting sponsorship for any event or activity at any meeting. 

Members: Brother Charles Hilken, FSC,  Sally Jamison,  Roy Wensley, PhD

Montini Fellow Sub-Committee: Brother Charles Hilken, FSC,  Sally Jamison